Photograph-a-holic's style diary

Pump up the Volume! : Hair Review

I’m about to introduce you to your new best volumising friends.  Reader, meet Redken’s Quick Tease and Powder Grip, Quick Tease and Powder Grip,  meet my lovely reader.  Now the pleasantries are done, let’s get down to business.

You’re going to wonder how your hair ever lived without these two dear friends.  Really.  You know those days when you’ve just washed your hair, and you pump it full of dry shampoo in the vain attempt to get some control?  To tame down those uncontrollable, flyaway strands?  Well, we can do better than that, much, much better.

Redken Powder Grip – 10/10:  Purchase this now.  No really, PURCHASE THIS NOW.  You want volume?  THIS is the first thing on your list.  Ditch that dry shampoo attempting to give you some control, some texture, which is does, in a weight your hair down – can’t use too much else your gunna look like you’ve been dunked head first in a huge pot of talc – kind of way.  THIS, this is what’s gonna do the job you want, give you all that texture with just a little dusting of powder at the roots.  You’re gunna just just tease it a little with you’re fingertips and poof!  Whatch it volume up before your very eyes.  Texture texture texture!  And none of that hideous weightiness.  If you have super fine hair like me, it gives you some vain attempt at getting a style (that holds!) going on.

Redken Quick Tease – 9/10: Backcomb in a can!  I know, genius right?!  Who needs to distress their hair and tangle it up when you’ve a can that does just the job, in a no fuss kinda way?!  Lift your hair, just as you would as if you were backcombing, and give a little spray of this stuff.  You’re gunna get that puzzled look on your face as you release your hair, watching it fall with great volume as if you’d just gone backcombing crazy.  Just a little spray is all you need, don’t go crazy or your hair will go a little nuts, but damn, is my hairdresser THE best person EVER for introducing these to me!  If you have regular hair, I’m sure you’re gunna give this a 10/10, but us fine haired people are going to find that whilst we love it, it doesn’t have a 100% hold with our flyaway tresses.  A mix of the two however, and a decent hairspray, and you’ll do just fine.

5 responses

  1. I need this! 😉

    September 14, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    • I think everyone does! Since my hairdresser introduced me to both, I’m utterly hooked!!

      September 14, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  2. Oh I think I might have to buy these! Are they expensive?

    September 16, 2012 at 8:28 am

    • I guess it depends what you class as expensive… I know everyone has a different idea when it comes to hair/beauty products! The ‘backcomb in a can’ you can get for just over £11, and Powder Grip for just under £10, buying them online will save you some £££ than if you bought in a salon: http://www.shoprush.co.uk/shop/brands/redken/13834?range=14135 – I’m not sure about a US site though? You need so little though that I’ve had mine for AGES! So whilst maybe not the cheapest, they’ll last, so I’m comfy with the price point.

      September 16, 2012 at 8:56 am

  3. Pingback: Insta-Autumn « 529scout

Leave a Reply

