Photograph-a-holic's style diary

Feline Eyes : Make Up Review

The never ending quest for the best eyeliner and mascara…  I’m getting closer, much closer!

Grab it!

Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara – 9/10: And grab it with both hands!  Single handedly THE best daytime mascara I’ve found to date.  Jet black, easy to apply, layers easily and doesn’t clump your lashes.  Love it love it love it.  The only reason it’s not getting a 10/10 is I don’t see the ‘false lash effect’.  This is a great an awesome daytime mascara, but for the evenings out, I want a bit more.

Soap & Glory Supercat Liquid Eyeliner – 7.5/10:  Beautifully easy to apply with it’s super sharp marker tip to create perfectly pointed cat eyes.  It’s one of my favourite liquid eyeliners, BUT, it loses a couple points just because I find I have to apply two coats for a super jet black finish.  Until I can find one eyeliner that can do the job just as well as this in one coat, it’s staying as a make up bag staple and will remain my daily reach for.

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner – 8/10:  First gel eyeliner I’ve ever tried.  Well.  Can’t I just see the difference between a gel and a regular liquid eyeliner!  INSTANTLY fell in love withe this product as soon as I tried it.  It comes with it’s own applicator brush which does the job fine.  The literally just glides across your eyelid with no dragging at all.  Super intense black that just sweeps across.  I’m about 1/4 to 1/3 through, and I have found it’s started to dry just a little, so isn’t quite as easy to apply as when I first bought it, and that’s the only reason it’s not getting a straight 10/10.  Overall however, GREAT gel liner I can’t see you being disappointed by, just remember to remove the excess gel from your brush after each use!

Ditch it!

YSL Shocking Mascara – 4/10:  I wanted to love this, and well, I did when I first applied it, and do even time I apply it.  So what goes wrong?  Well, to start, I LUUUUUUUURVE the packaging, it completely gleams up my make up bag. Tick.  I really like the fragrant smell when you open it (I was worried as it’s quite strong it would irritate my sensitive eyes, but it doesn’t at all).  Tick.  Easy to apply, and easy to layer. Tick.  After two coats you’ve super jet black, super intense lashes, perfect as an evening mascara. Tick!  However, and here’s where it all goes wrong…  Considering the price tag, this one dries out much quicker than any mascara I’ve ever bought, and I had to repurchase another sooner than I expected.  I’d kinda live with that if I kept it for an evening mascara solely, however after an hour or so of wearing, this mascara becomes flaky, and I find little black specs all across my cheekbones.  NOT a good look.  If it didn’t flake I’d be ranting at how much you need to buy this product as it’l give you super intense lashes, but if you don’t want your mascara anywhere other than your lashes, give it a miss.

What’s your favourite eyeliners and mascara’s?  Have you found one to top these?

8 responses

  1. Great post! 🙂

    My favourite daytime mascara is High Impact by Clinique. No clumps and it’s easy to wash off with just water. For a night out I’d probably say my favourite is Hypnose by Lancome. When it comes to eyeliner I don’t really have a favourite (yet).

    September 10, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    • Then I need to check out Lancome’s mascara! I’ll let you know how I get on!

      September 10, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  2. Silvy

    I use the same eyeliner and the false lash effect mascara, great products! 😀

    September 10, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    • Great taste in eye make up! 😉

      September 10, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  3. TJ

    loving these little reviews and how straight to the point you are about which ones you like and don’t like! 🙂
    xo TJ

    September 11, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    • Thanks 🙂 And I get enough of people telling me what to buy, someone needs to tell you what to save your money on too! 😉

      September 11, 2012 at 7:42 pm

  4. I love that Maybelline eyeliner 🙂

    September 13, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    • Me too! This is the first gel I’ve tried, and now I don’t know why it hasn’t been in my life until now?!

      September 13, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

