Photograph-a-holic's style diary

Koh Phangan : Thailand : Travel

Oh Thailand, Thailand Thailand Thailand, I heart you so…  So, you can surely start to see why I have holiday(/Thailand) blues.

Koh Phanang, a completely different island, a completely different experience to Koh Chang.  Home to many a full moon party (there wasn’t one on my stay) however my experience was far more subdued, relaxed, purely beautiful.

I can’t quite put my finger on exactly what it is, the beaches, the sunshine, the people… But I get an amazing content feeling whenever I visit.  It’s one place that completely recharges the batteries (well, once I’ve gotten over the jet lag on the return journey!)

Visiting Koh Phanang gave me the opportunity to do something that has now become one of my top 5 life experiences to date.  We spontaneously went on one of the snorkelling trips on the island.  Oh my.  There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe just how beautiful it was.

There was maybe a dozen of us on our trip, I was pretty much the first one in and the last one out.  By the time I had gotten out, I was completely exhausted and my lips were stinging sore and dehydrated from all the salty water.  I NEED to add an underwater camera to my list of acquisitions.  It was bizarre, I have somewhat of a mini phobia of the sea, not knowing what’s ‘down there’, however whilst I was underwater and wanted to touch nothing, and nothing to touch me, the visibility and the colours were immense.  I couldn’t get enough.  The locals that took us out gave us some bread to feed the fish with, and they go crazy for it!  You literally have hundreds of fish swarming around you and nibbling around your fingers to get their feed.  If you go to Thailand (or anywhere else similar), TRY IT!!

Oh, and how have I nearly forgotten to mention my midnight swim in the bay, swishing my fingers around and illuminating the phosphorescence?  There were just a few, and it’s high on my list to do peak phosphorescence season.  Beautiful, just beautiful.

5 responses

  1. You’re giving me travel fever especially for Thailand. It’s been on my list of places to go for a long time. I’m gonna have to fix that. I definitely need to have a phosporescent moment!

    July 9, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    • You completely need a phosphorescence moment! It’s so magical, especially as the sea is so calm and tranquil at night. And Thailand itself, even more of a must! I want to know when you’ve booked your tickets!

      July 9, 2012 at 4:34 pm

  2. Wow these photos are so beautiful. I want to go back to Thailand so much! I never went to Koh Phangan, the only Island I went to was Koh Phi Phi. I really want to experience a full moon party 🙂
    Daniella x

    http://daniella-r.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07

    July 10, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    • Thank you 🙂 And I haven’t been to an actual full moon party, however MANY a Thai beach party, they’re pretty immense!

      July 10, 2012 at 8:30 pm

  3. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

